About Us

Who we are.

The FCT Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) was established by Section 8 of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) Act of 1999 – which stipulates “the establishment for each state of the Federation, a State Emergency Management Committee,” hence, its coming into being in June 2013 after due approval by the Honorable Minister, FCT, to operate as a State-level Agency in line with the Act.

What we do.

The mandate of the FCT Emergency Management Agency is centered on the following areas:

  • Disaster Management
  • Risk Reduction
  • Emergency Response
  • Relief Services
  • Counseling/Rehabilitation of Disaster Affected Persons.

How we do it.

In realization of the above, the Agency undertakes the following:

  • Disaster Management
  • Risk Reduction
  • Emergency Response
  • Relief Services
  • Effective and efficient handling of emergency and disaster cases of various types and magnitudes in the Federal Capital Territory
  • Development of a sustainable Outpost Medical First Aid, Clinical and Ambulance Services
  • Establishment of Emergency Management Committees in the FCT Area Councils

Our partners and sister agencies

  • Transport Secretariat
  • Department of Road Traffic Services (DRTS)
  • Health and Human Services Secretariat (HHSS)
  • Public Health, Emergency Services
  • Primary Health Care Development Board
  • Abuja Environmental Protection Board (AEPB)
  • Engineering Department (FCDA)
  • Social Development Secretariat (SDS)
  • Department of Monitoring and Inspection
  • The Media
  • Julius Berger Nigeria Ltd
  • Arab Contractors Ltd
  • Setraco Nigeria Ltd